Tis the Season! Christmas Pickles & 10 milers

Recap on life

(yes, I am a horrible blogger)

Friday

It’s getting festive at the University of Portland Marketing department!

IMG_4685

IMG_4686Work Christmas party at Voicebox! It was so much fun singing karaoke with the entire division. Not only did I win a $50 Nordstrom gift card (and no… not because of my singing), but the party was for a great cause. We ended up raising a good amount of money for Doernbecher Children’s Hospital!

IMG_4709 IMG_4702

IMG_4689

Afterwards, I went to celebrate the fabulous life/birth of Miss Katie Yochim

IMG_4711

Saturday

Holy Christmas Shopping Santa! Steven and I rocked it this year. I might have gone through the entire Target store twice.

IMG_4713

Fun fact: Steven has this nickname for me… “Pickle” And when we discovered there was something of a Christmas Pickle tradition, we knew we had to be a part of it! After a little bit of searching, this Pickle finally has her Christmas Pickle!

pickle

Afterwards we had a low-key evening. Steven’s housemate is a foster mom to two adorable kittens! And the great girlfriend I am, a made a sick Steven a Christmas cake! Man, I love easy, box cakes.

IMG_4721

IMG_4730

Sunday

Brunch with one of my favorite couples, Matt & Bridgette!

IMG_4736After brunch, I knew I had to get in a long run. And man, was it horrible! With less than a week until the half marathon, the runner in me knew I needed to do a 10 miler. It was cold, rainy, and painful. But I did it!

Screen shot 2012-12-11 at 3.33.58 PM10 miles never looked so ugly.

Afterwards I just felt sick and beat down physically… which unfortunately moved into my Monday.

Monday

I woke up Monday feeling super sick. I blame: hanging out with a sick boyfriend, my long 10 miler, the fact that everyone seems to be getting sick, I’m getting older and my immune system hates me.

I unfortunately had to stay home from work and totally babied myself. Basically my dad was spent chugging Dayquil, drinking way too much tea while sprawled on my couch watching HBO’s Big Love.

IMG_4739

(if you don’t watch this show, you should!)

big loveCourtesy of HBO

One bright spot in my sick day is that I received a beautiful housewarming gift from the fabulous Erica Jornlin! Her life in Chicago sounds wonderful and I am so excited to visit her (and Karen and Eric) in the Spring!

IMG_4743As for today, I am thankfully feeling way better! Nose is still sniffly, but it’s manageable. Poor Steven though sounds like kermit the frog! Sick boyfriend needs to feel better!

tis the season for sickness!

 

3 thoughts on “Tis the Season! Christmas Pickles & 10 milers

Leave a Reply

