Pitch Perfect is hilarious! Now go see it.

courtesy of IMBD

I don’t think I have laughed that hard during a movie since Bridesmaids.

Seriously, Pitch Perfect is hilarious! And if you need a great chick flick, this is it.

Now I know what you are thinking… that it’s about acapella groups and it could be lame. Because honestly, I was thinking the same thing. I went because a) Dannica, Taryn, and Kim really wanted to see it and b) I have an addiction to movie theater popcorn.

And I can’t even begin to describe to you how hilarious this movie is. I was entertained the entire 112 minutes. From the characters to the hilarious dialogue to the songs, it’s like Bridesmaids meets Glee meets Mean Girls meets Bring It On. And who wouldn’t want to see that?

Courtesy of IMDB

Alternative Becca (Anna Kendrick) is lonely college freshman before she joins the crazy, weird world of college acapella groups. She joins the Barden Bellas and chaos ensues. The best part about the film is that it makes fun of itself. It knows how ridiculous it is, but it keeps running with it. It’s stupid, but smart at the same time… (worst sentence I have ever written in this blog)

Although I loved all the songs (and the mashups), the best part is the weird, quirky characters that you meet along the way. From the prim and proper blonde who has a projectile vomiting issue to the quiet girl who always speaks in creepy whispers to Elizabeth Banks who played a washed out acapella commentator — these characters and their lines are definitely memorable and quotable.

But hands down, the best character is Fat Amy. Rebel Wilson, who you will definitely remember from Bridemaids, hands down steals the show. I haven’t stopped quoting her lines all day. 

Favorite –  I love you all. Even though most of you are pretty thin, you all have fat hearts

Basically this movie has made me want to join an acapella group and sing/dance my heart out. And since Steven was a vocal studies major in college, we will do duets on request (haha!)

If I haven’t convinced you yet, Dannica took this gem of a video of Kim & I reenacting acapella groups after the movie.

And no, we are not intoxicated. This is pure enthusiasm and movie popcorn energy.

One thought on “Pitch Perfect is hilarious! Now go see it.

  1. Pingback: Mid-Week Music: You’re Gonna Miss Me by Lulu and the Lampshades | Life of Roya

Leave a Reply

