PDX Fab Find: Bazi Bierbrasserie

I am going to be honest, I never really venture out into SE Portland. Being a downtown girl, I  know my way around the west side, but the east side is a little bit of a mystery for me.

Let me tell you, Bazi Bierbrasserie is a hidden gem on the east side. Small, tucked away right off of Hawthorne, this bar/restaurant totally rocks!

Bazi Bierbrasserie (don’t ask me to pronounce that…) is a Belgian bar with a brasserie style food menu. Steven and I met our friends Katie and Dylan right after work for happy hour and to watch a Timbers game.

I was totally and completely impressed with Bazi Bierbrasserie .

The restaurant is smaller, but has a great outside area with picnic tables and umbrellas. There is also a garage door that was opened into the restaurant, which gave a lovely natural light. Awesome atmosphere, I loved it!

The cool thing about Bazi Bierbrasserie is the beer selection. There are about 17 imported Belgian craft beer taps as well as a couple local, rotating guest taps, all in the Belgian-style. There is something for everyone and our server was more then helpful with our selections.

Steven, Katie, and Dylan well went with traditional, dark imported Belgian beers (of course!), while I ordered lighter Wit beers from two breweries.

Turns out the two beers I had were from the local rotating guest taps, one from pFriem Brewing and the other from Breakside Brewing. If you like lighter, creamy beers, these two Wits are for you!

Hint: Be prepared to pay a little more for your beer! Also, since they are imported, there are no beer samples. So ask your server and order wisely!

Not only were we all super excited about the beers, the food was so so good! Happy hour prices ranged from $3-$7 and the food portions were very generous. I definitely want to come back for dinner sometime.

Happy Hour food menu

I ordered the happy hour frites and the dirty laundry grilled cheese sandwich! The frites were delicious and cooked to perfection. Whatever seasoning they had one them, I want it on everything. I also died over the grilled cheese. With doughy pullman load bread and copious amounts to cheddar and gruyere, I could eat this grilled cheese everyday.

Steven and Katie ordered the old fashioned cheeseburger and both had nothing but wonderful things to say about it!

Bazi Bierbrasserie shows all local teams, MLS games, and English Soccer games on a giant 114 inch tv. They also have a smaller tv in the corner of the bar. If you are going for a game, be sure to get there early! We were shocked how packed it was a half hour before kick off!Good beer, delicious food, great friends? Nothing could be better… (besides a Timbers win)

 

Leave a Reply

