Race Recap: Pineapple Classic 5K Obstacle Course

I learned three things at the Pineapple Classic 5K Obstacle Course

1) Obstacle courses are fun, challenging, and dirty races

2) Wearing a tutu makes you very popular

3) Bee stings hurt ALOT

There was a Portland Perks discount code for the race and I knew that I had to do it. Coworkers Amy and Bridget and done it the previous year and they both just loved it. I got the coupons for Dannica and I, bought a tutu, and prepared myself for an awesome time!

The race was located in Canby, so not that far from Portland. The wonderful Steven came with us to support his girlfriends and their tutu ways. The great thing about the race is that it supports the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. You had tons of people there, all racing for a great cause. The atmosphere was almost electric!

After a ton of pre-race photos (have I mentioned Steven is the best?!), Dannica and I headed to the start line. A fun aspect of this race is that each team is given a pineapple. Our pineapple (beautifully dubbed Bob) had to go to each obstacle with us and had to be held by one of us at all times. Bob was a champ, let me tell you…

The course was about 3.1 miles with about 17 obstacles. They had us doing everything; from jumping on unstable “lily pads” in a small lake to climbing up various walls. From pushing water-filled exercise balls up a steep dirt hill to crawling under nets Army style. Our beautiful tutus were literally caked in mud by the end of the course! It was challenging, but Dannica and I had fun the entire way!

Of course something bad had to happen though! Halfway through the obstacle course, right after we did a balance beam obstacle, I felt this sharp, intense pain in my back. I screamed so loud, Dannica immediately came over to investigate what happened. I had never been stung by a bee, but I was pretty sure that’s what happened. Dannica, my sneaky little friend, kept assuring me that I just cut myself on a branch. That little liar… she knows me so well, it’s probably a good thing she didn’t tell me.

But now I feel like such a badass

Also…the final obstacle was a 30 foot high water slide… and let’s just say I fell off of it… I am such a klutz. Bob fell with me, but thankfully he was alright too!

After the race was a luau, with Hawaiian pork and Deschutes Beer. It didn’t matter that it was barely 10:30 in the morning, we totally had our lunch and beer!

I highly recommend the Pineapple Classic 5K run. It was well organized and super fun. I’m excited to get a big group together to do it next year! The obstacles are relatively hard, but they are all manageable. If a little wuss like me can do them, then everyone can!

BTW… Bob tasted delicious – nice little time on the barbecue.

2012 Pineapple Classic 5K results:

2 thoughts on “Race Recap: Pineapple Classic 5K Obstacle Course

Leave a Reply

