City girl in the Country

This past weekend, Bridgette and I went with Dannica to her hometown of Baker City, Oregon. The occasion? Miners Jubilee!

 

I have NEVER been to the country. Complete city girl here. But I loved my time in Baker City and I plan on forcing Dannica to take me every year!  Baker is a small town of 10,000 people, many of whom are legit farmers and cowboys. Not like those move-type cowboys, like REAL COWBOYS.

Basically it’s nothing like I am accustomed to, being a big city girl and all. But there is something about that town and Miners Jubilee that brings a big smile to my face!

Miners Jubilee celebrates the strong mining history of the area. Everyone in the city comes together for parades, festivals, carnivals, beer gardens, and the rodeo.

I can’t even begin to describe how much fun I had this weekend discovering my country roots with two of my best friends. I almost died though at the rodeo (from screaming so much). It is terrifying…

I would give anything to be back at Dannica’s house drinking sweet tea and eating beef jerky while talking with her giant family.

I love everything about Baker City

The drive

 

The beer garden

The parade

The traditions

The BBQs

The rodeo

The animals

The cowboy hats

A big thank you to Dannica’s parents Ron and Doris for having us this weekend! Little do they know that they have created a country girl!

One thought on “City girl in the Country

  1. Looks like you had a great time! I grew up in the country so I am a total country girl–I kind of miss it since I have been living in the big metropolis of Spokane for 9 years and 10 months.
    I went to BC once when I was younger, but I don’t remember much of it.

Leave a Reply

