The Good & The Bad: Half Marathon Training Update

We are officially under 40 days until the Eugene Women’s Half Marathon!

I wish there was a manuel that would tell me how I should feel right now. The closer I get to August 26, the more unprepared I feel… Is that normal?

I don’t even recognize that girl in March who was so excited about 13.1 miles!

I am still super excited. But nerves are getting the best of me. And although 13.1 miles is going to be physically killer, my problem is more my mental state then anything.

Training update

The Good:

I have been working out like crazy. I can’t even imagine going more than a day without breaking a sweat! Working out during my lunch break has been so wonderful for my mind; it totally helps break up the workday.

I have gotten in some really great runs. The kind of runs that leave you feeling emotionally refreshed and physically exhausted (the best kind!) With the sun out and the Portland Waterfront abuzz with activity, my runs have been so much more enjoyable this Summer.

Instead of just focusing on running/biking/elliptical-ing, I have found other ways to cross train. I walk everywhere in Portland, and Steven and I made a point to walk during our vacations in Seattle and the coast. This past weekend, we went on a hike in Manzanita. I loved it. And I loved the fact that I got a great workout in while spending time with Steven on the gorgeous Oregon coast!

The Bad:

That beautiful training plan I had? I somehow got behind and now I am panicking. Life is getting in the way (which is a good/bad thing). I have big plans every weekend for the upcoming weeks, which is going to throw off my training even more

I cherish my route on the Portland Waterfront. It’s gorgeous, right by the river, perfect people watching, and I love sprinting across the bridges. The problem is… is that I don’t want to run anywhere else. I need to suck it up and run during my lunch break. It might not be my beautiful run, but a run is a run and I need to do more of it.

I am so stressed out about the half marathon, that running isn’t fun anymore. I need to just relax and go with it. Running should not be stressful. Because it doesn’t matter to me how fast my pace is or how many walk breaks I am going to need during this half marathon. I just want to run it. And that should be what I focus on.

Any advice out there half-marathoners?

(don’t forget my Cheribundi giveaway! You have until tomorrow to enter!)

5 thoughts on “The Good & The Bad: Half Marathon Training Update

  1. I can relate!Training for my first full and I have lots of weekends away. It is stressful trying to fit the time in. As long as you can get to 10 miles you are golden. Concentrate on the long runs and maybe swap it during the week if you absolutely can’t get it in.

  2. Definitely don’t stress! (Easier said than done, I know!). Just focus on getting as many of the scheduled runs in as you can over the next few weeks before your taper, and you will be fine. If you don’t have a specific time goal, I would say make sure you at least get in a 2-2.5 hour run/walk workout in (regardless of distance) sometime a couple of weeks before the race as a bit of a dress rehearsal, and then just go out on race day and have fun! Good luck!

  3. I am getting mentally stressed out too..I don’t know why!! I think we need a kick in the pants to snap out of it!! You will do fine, I know I will do fine..we WILL finish..so why are we so stressed?!!?

  4. The same thing happened for me before my first half. My training plan was all messed up and I managed one 10 mile jog/walk. Just relax, adjust your goals, and go with the flow. I know what you mean about the waterfront loop – last year I was super comfortable with it and ran my best between Steel and Sellwood. The bluff is not a bad place to run though 🙂 Think about it this way, a new route will distract you from the running because there are new things to look at 🙂

  5. Pingback: Turning the Bad into Good: Half Marathon training | Life of Roya

Leave a Reply

