Running on the Elliptical

I know it sounds weird… and completely unnatural. But I have discovered an interval workout on the elliptical that “simulates” running.

I have been workout out a lot during my lunch break (which I love, I totally recommend it to everyone with an office job!)

For some reason, running in the middle of the day sounds horrible to me. I would rather just wait until I get home to run which is what I end up doing. But I really cherish my mid-day workout, so instead of dragging through some running miles, I have met up with an old friend, the elliptical!

I have gotten so tired of the pre-set workouts on the elliptical. I swear if I have to do “cross training course” one more time, I think I will scream!

I have found/semi-formed a comprehensive workout that simulates running. I have been using it for the past week and it has been killer for my legs! I love that it keeps me from getting bored on the machine and that I am really being tested with the high resistance. It’s a great cardio workout that is low impact on your knees, but still gives your body a similar (not completely though…) workout as if you were running.

If you are looking for a challenge on the elliptical, this would be it! Repeat twice for a 60 minute interval workout.

Tip: don’t put your hands on the machine. Instead, pump your arms like you are running. This will also engage your core and help you with your stride.  

I set the cross ramp at 5. Please choose what whichever cross ramp level that works for you!

Let me know what you think!

One thought on “Running on the Elliptical

Leave a Reply

