PDX Fab Find: Oven & Shaker + Dining Month

To celebrate my wonderful review yesterday, the boyfriend took me on an amazing date! Complete with flowers, diet coke, and pizza, three of my favorite things.

We wanted to try a new restaurant using the supremely awesome Portland Dining Month deal. Basically, 66 amazing Portland restaurants are offering a 3 course meal for $25! If you live in Portland, you have to do it. Who doesn’t love fine dining for a fraction of the price?! It’s a great way to check out those places you have always wanted to eat at!

We decided to try Oven & Shaker on NW Everett. I have heard such amazing things at this “modern urban saloon.” And I was desperate to try their pizza. Bottom line: Oven & Shaker is amazing. From the food to the decor to the ambiance, this place is what is beautiful about Portland.

What really struck me was how much they care about food. I loved that each dish came out when it was ready. No waiting under a hot lamp, when your pizza is ready, it’s delivered straight to you. Although there were a couple minutes between our pizzas, I loved that attention to detail that it really didn’t bother me.

Oven & Shaker is one of those places that make you feel instantly cool. It’s the whole massive bar, wood paneling, attractive people thing. The vibe in the restaurant was awesome. It’s slightly smaller which gives it a nice, exclusive feel.

The food definitely didn’t disappoint either. For the Portland Dining Month courses, each person got to choose a salad, a pizza, and a dessert.

For salads, I got the Nostrana and Steven got the Antipasto. My salad (kind of like a Caesar) was alright, but I definetly enjoyed Steven’s more (sorry SQ!). The Antipasto was so full of flavor and the salami/mozzarella/vinaigrette combo was delicious!

For pizzas, I choose the Mushroom pizza (with green onion and Fontina) and Steven had the Pork Belly pizza (with collard greens, red onion, egg, and taleggio). I can honestly say that both pizzas were incredible! I loved my mushroom pizza, not too heavy with cheese and it had this amazing vinaigrette-like topping. Both pizzas were perfectly cooked (in a gorgeous wood oven) and the toppings were so imaginative. Steven’s pizza was really a culinary work of art. I would never imagine to combine those flavors or textures together, but somehow it worked perfectly! And the egg cooked in the middle of his pizza was divine (side note: Steven loved that is pizza came with scissors to cut the pizza with. It’s the simple pleasures in life)

For dessert, we choose two of their housemade gelatos. I went with Olive Oil and Steven went with Chocolate Mint. With a little cookie on top, the gelatos were deliciously light and flavorful.

The bar at Oven & Shaker was really impressive looking and their cocktail menu is extensive (and also really impressive sounding!). I stuck with a diet coke, but next time I will definetly be ordering a cocktail! According to Mr. Beer lover, their beer list was pretty good. Steven said (and I quote) “their selection had a good amount of lagers, pale ales and pilsners. Some with a local microbrew style while others with traditional European aromas and textures.” Yeah… I don’t really know what any of that means. But he ordered the Oakshire Amber, and he was happy.

Photo Courtesy of SinglePage.com

Go to Oven & Shaker. It’s delicious. Also, they have pizza scissors, which made one guy very happy!

Thanks for a great date SQ!

One thought on “PDX Fab Find: Oven & Shaker + Dining Month

Leave a Reply

