Be Calm & Run 6.55 miles

Saturday is fast approaching… and I am terrified. 

It seems like just yesterday that I made the decision to run the Hippie Chick Quarter Marathon. And now in less than 48 hours I have to actually run it!

I am a ball of nerves. I feel… kind of prepared. Unfortunately with the hip injury, part of my training plan got trashed, so I am not feeling confident. But then again, I don’t know what would have made me feel confident.

On top of that, the organizers sent out a frightening email with this message..

“IMPORTANT, PLEASE NOTE HIGH TEMPS IN FORECAST: BRING YOUR
HYDRATION DEVICE TO HIPPIE CHICK AS THE FORECAST CALLS FOR HIGH
TEMPS. STAY HYDRATED THIS WEEK, THE MORNING OF THE RACE AND
DURING THE RACE. HYDRATE WHEN YOU ARE FINISHED!! We will have water
and Heed on the course at least every 2.0 miles but to be safe please carry water.”

First off, anything in caps lock already stresses me out. And the idea of dying on the course also stresses me out.

Good news though, Saturday will be gorgeous and I have heard that the course is beautiful and relatively flat. We start and finish Hillsboro Stadium, so I will totally feel like an Olympian (a tired, sore, exhausted, sweaty Olympian)

My dad and Steven will be there cheering me on, which I am so appreciative of. And I am promised that there will be pancakes and mimosas after my race.

Now that’s some incentive to run 6.55 miles.

I might be slow, but I can totally do this…

courtesy of hey runner girl tumblr

I can totally do this…

2 thoughts on “Be Calm & Run 6.55 miles

Leave a Reply

