The Waiting Game (My Shin’s Judgement Day)

(I love a good overly-dramatic title)

I took the plunge and went to the doctor yesterday. If you don’t know me well, I usually avoid anything medical-related. I get anxiety, have a weird phobia with needles, and the smell of anything “medical” makes me all stressed out. But I did it and now it’s over!

I am happy to report that I had a very pleasant, no tears experience! It was my first time at Kaiser (because of my new insurance) and that place is huge! It’s a sprawling campus of medical buildings with anything and everything in them! It was like a medical Hogwarts…but without the cool magic.

Steven volunteered to accompany me for some hand holding encouragement (and he made me dinner afterwards.) Honestly, he’s a pretty great catch!

My doctor (who is young and hip and did glare at me when I told her needles aren’t my best friend) examined my shin and was optimistic that I didn’t have a stress fracture. She believed that my pain could still be from shin splints, and I could have an onset of a stress fracture in my tibia.

I went in for a X-ray and and am now waiting to hear back the results today…

I am now have mild panic attacks every time my phone buzzes… Fingers crossed! I really want to run this race on March 18!

An update to come later today! 

Update #1 9:00 p.m. Tuesday – No word from Dr.

Update #2 10:56 a.m. Wednesday – Still no word…I sent an e-mail to her because I am impatient and needy

3 thoughts on “The Waiting Game (My Shin’s Judgement Day)

Leave a Reply

