An open-letter to my left shin

Courtesy of LaurenOutLoud.com

(I know, I know. I have gone a little crazy…)

Dear left shin (I would give you a name, but I hate you),

I have done everything humanly possible for you to feel better. I went out and got those beautiful shoes (which thankfully made your right twin stop hurting), but still you continue to throb. I ice you after every run, massage you every chance I get, and baby you all the time. I’m pretty sure Steven, my friends, family, and co-workers are tired of hearing me talk about you. All I want to do is run pain-free, but for some reason you won’t let me do that. But I held strong, I was not going to let you stop me…

But now you are beginning to hurt when I walk, which is just not going to fly with me. So I’m officially going to the doctor on Monday (well…Amy is forcing me to go…) so I can get you the shut up and just be a normal shin.

Act like the right shin and stop being a baby so I can run on March 18. I have been working so hard for this and I’m not going to let you stop me. I mean, seriously, a shin injury is just so lame! My six year old ACL tear is laughing at you…

But in all seriousness, please don’t be a stress fracture… 

Love,

Roya

Leave a Reply

