Being lazy to be healthy

For the past month, I have been trying to have a health overhaul. I am proud to say that along with my new running regime, I am also trying to eat healthier! The easiest way to do this is to cook my own meals while incorporating more vegetables and fruit into my diet as possible.

When it comes to food, I’m pretty lazy. That’s why takeout and eating out was my go to… it was fast, easy, and I didn’t have to do any of the prep-work!

I love to cook now (I know, I can’t believe it either!), but the prep is takes to cook a healthy meal can be killer. After work, the last thing I want to do is to chop an onion or cut up a green pepper.

So I came up with a system that just rocks. I do both my farmers market shopping and my grocery shopping during the weekend. I set aside some time on Sunday to cut up all of my fruits and vegetables. I found that if I just do it all at once and store them in tupperware, I have ready ingredients for my week’s breakfasts, lunches, snacks and dinners. I know the fruits and vegetables I have, and I know that they need to be used up by the next weekend’s shopping trip. So I am proactive for one hour so I can be lazy for the entire week.

It’s an extremely small step, but it has helped me immensely! That way any meal I have, I can throw in some chopped vegetables or fruit to make it healthier and to make me happier.

3 thoughts on “Being lazy to be healthy

  1. My boyfriend and I have a similar system. On Saturday we plan our menus and go shopping, then prep everything– mix the marinades, chop the veggies, separate portions. It makes cooking after work a breeze!

Leave a Reply

