Skinny Sloppy Joes, crockpot style

Steven’s grandparents got me a crockpot for Christmas and I have been obsessed with it! It’s really a genius invention, if you don’t have one, get one! It saves me tons of time and it’s perfect when I don’t feel like cooking dinner after work.

Literally, you put all of your ingridents in, turn it on, go to work, and come home to a delicious dinner! What more could I ask for?

Amy told me about the Skinny Ms. Slow Cooker recipes, and I have loved all of their recipies. Think traditional meals, made into crockpot recipes, that are (somewhat)healthy.

Last night I cooked the Skinny Sloppy Joes and they were delicious! I also got the approval from Steven, who really liked the “skinnier” version. The turkey was really moist and the sauce was fantastic! I also loved the fact that I had most of the ingridents.

1 pound ground turkey breast (raw)

1 cup onion, diced

1/2 cup green pepper, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp yellow mustard

1/4 cup ketchup

1 15 oz can no-salt added tomato sauce

1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 Tbsp BBQ sauce (I used Bull’s Eye Guiness Draught Beer Barbecue Sauce)

Add all the other ingredients in crockpot and mix well.

Cook on low for 5-6 hours or HIGH for 3-4 hours.

Serve with a whole grain bun. I used Dave’s Killer Bread Blues Buns (which are super delicious.)

I also served it with a garden salad with light champagne dressing and sweet potato fries (I totally went overboard with the fries.)

4 servings Serving size: 1 cup (bun not included) Calories: 167 Fat: 3.8 g Carbs: 14 g Sugars: 7.8 g Fiber: 2.5 g Sodium: 387 mg Protein: 23 g

It’s a delicious, no fuss dinnner!

One thought on “Skinny Sloppy Joes, crockpot style

Leave a Reply

