Homemade Chicken Tortilla Soup = SUCCESS!

Chicken Tortilla soup has always been a favorite of mine. Every time my mom would make it, I would devour bowl after bowl. Never in a million years did I think that I could make it (mostly because I could barely make anything in a kitchen). But this easy recipe and my pre-cut veggies made it super simple! It was the perfect meal to cook for Steven because it was fast (so I could spend more time with him), but also delicious (I think he was impressed with my cooking skills!).  

Chicken Tortilla Soup

modified from the Hungry Girl cookbook

Ingredients:

- 3 cups chicken broth

- 4 ounces cooked chicken breast

- 1 can diced “fire-roasted” tomatoes, undrained

- 1 can sweet corn kernels

- 1/2 cup chopped onion

- 1 can mild green chilies, drained

- 1 tablespoon lime juice

- 1 packed of fajita seasoning

- 1 teaspoon minced garlic

- 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin

- 1/4 teaspoon chili powder

Toppings: Shredded cheddar cheese, cilantro, olives, sour cream, tortilla chips

happy (and hungry) boyfriend

In medium pot sprayed with non-stick spray, cook onions, garlic, spices and seasoning on medium heat for 8 minutes

Add chicken broth and bring to boil. Simmer for 10 minutes

Add corn and diced tomatoes. Cook for 5 minutes

Add chicken, chilies, and lime juice. Stir for 2 minutes.

Makes four servings.

101 calories/cup

Easy and super delicious! Next time I am going to double the recipe so I can have more leftovers for the week’s lunches/dinners.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Chicken Tortilla Soup = SUCCESS!

Leave a Reply

